Mid American Conference NCAA

Mid-American Conference announces 2018 football schedule

CLEVELAND – The Mid-American Conference announced the 2018 football schedule today. Highlighting the schedule are 16 games available nationally during the last month of the regular season, slated for ESPN2, ESPNU, ESPN3 and CBS Sports Network as the conference race unfolds in both the East and West divisions.

An updated release of the MAC 2018 football schedule will be released in June with kick times and a television schedule for the first three weeks of the regular season and midweek games during late October and November. All other game kick times and television will be announced 12 days prior to the scheduled game.

The regular season will conclude with the 22nd Marathon MAC Football Championship game at a date to be determined from Ford Field in Detroit. This will mark the 15th Marathon MAC Football Championship game at Ford Field, home of the Detroit Lions, Super Bowl XL, and the 2009 NCAA Men’s Final Four.

For the 11th year in a row, league schools will face a formidable non-conference slate of opponents from the following Football Bowl Subdivision conferences – ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12, SEC, Notre Dame and BYU. In addition, the Conference will also face opponents from the American Athletic Conference, Conference USA, Mountain West Conference, Sun Belt Conference and Independents Army and UMass.

MAC programs will face five non-conference foes that finished in the final AP Top 25 poll: Penn State (9), Notre Dame (11), Miami-Fla. (13), Michigan State (15) and Northwestern (17).

A total of 12 non-conference games will feature a Big Ten opponent (Illinois; Indiana; Iowa; Maryland; Michigan; Michigan State; Minnesota; Nebraska; Northwestern; Penn State; Purdue; Rutgers). The MAC will face foes from the ACC (5—Florida State, Georgia Tech, Miami (Fla.), Syracuse, Virginia), SEC (2—Kentucky, Ole Miss), Pac-12 (2-Oregon, Utah), Big 12 (2—Iowa State; Kansas); and Independent Notre Dame, BYU, Army (3 games) and UMass.

The MAC will also face opponents from the American Athletic Conference (3— Cincinnati (2), Temple), Mountain West (3—Fresno State, Nevada, San Diego State), Conference USA (2—Marshall, Western Kentucky) and Sun Belt Conference (1—Georgia State).

This season the MAC will host 10 games against FBS non-conference opponents.

MAC Home Games vs. FBS Non-Conference opponents:
-Syracuse (ACC) at Western Michigan, on Aug. 31 (CBS Sports Network);
-Cincinnati (American) at Miami on Sept. 8 (at Paul Brown Stadium);
-Kansas (Big-12) at Central Michigan on Sept. 8;
-Maryland (Big Ten) at Bowling Green on Sept. 8;
-Utah (Pac-12) at NIU on Sept. 8;
-Miami (Fla.) (ACC) at Toledo on Sept. 15;
-Western Kentucky (C-USA) at Ball State on Sept. 22;
-Army (Independent) at Buffalo on Sept. 29;
-UMass (Independent) at Ohio on Sept. 29;
-Army (Independent) at Eastern Michigan on Oct. 27.

Founded in 1946, the Mid-American Conference is an NCAA Division I, 12-member conference that sponsors 23 championships and is one of ten members of the Football Bowl Subdivison (FBS). With total enrollment of nearly 300,000 students, the league represents institutions of higher learning in five (5) states – Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, New York, and Ohio.

Current MAC schools that hold full membership and the year they joined are — East Division: University of Akron (1992), Bowling Green State University (1952), University at Buffalo (1998), Kent State University (1951), Miami University (1947), Ohio University (1946). West Division: Ball State University (1973), Central Michigan University (1971), Eastern Michigan University (1971), Northern Illinois University (1975-86, rejoined in 1997), University of Toledo (1950), Western Michigan University (1947). The conference office is based in Cleveland, Ohio.

2018 MAC Football Schedule (composite by date)
All times listed ET
*Conference Game

Aug. 30 – Thursday
Central Connecticut State at Ball State

Aug. 31 – Friday
Monmouth at Eastern Michigan
Syracuse at Western Michigan, Time TBA (CBS Sports Network)

Sep. 1 – Saturday
Akron at Nebraska
Bowling Green at Oregon
Central Michigan at Kentucky
Delaware State at Buffalo
Howard at Ohio
Kent State at Illinois
Marshall at Miami
NIU at Iowa
VMI at Toledo

Sep. 8 – Saturday
Ball State at Notre Dame
Buffalo at Temple
Cincinnati at Miami (at Paul Brown Stadium, Cincinnati, Ohio)
Eastern Michigan at Purdue
Howard at Kent State
Kansas at Central Michigan
Maryland at Bowling Green
Morgan State at Akron
Utah at NIU
Western Michigan at Michigan

Sep. 15 – Saturday
Akron at Northwestern
Ball State at Indiana
Central Michigan at NIU
Delaware State at Western Michigan
Eastern Kentucky at Bowling Green
Eastern Michigan at Buffalo
Kent State at Penn State
Miami (Fla.) at Toledo
Miami at Minnesota
Ohio at Virginia

Sep. 22 – Saturday
Akron at Iowa State
Buffalo at Rutgers
Eastern Michigan at San Diego State
Kent State at Ole Miss
Maine at Central Michigan
*Miami at Bowling Green
Nevada at Toledo
NIU at Florida State
Ohio at Cincinnati
Western Kentucky at Ball State
Western Michigan at Georgia State

Sep. 29 – Saturday
Army at Buffalo
Bowling Green at Georgia Tech
Central Michigan at Michigan State
Kent State at Ball State
NIU at Eastern Michigan
Toledo at Fresno State
UMass at Ohio
*Western Michigan at Miami

Oct. 6 – Saturday
Bowling Green at Toledo
Buffalo at Central Michigan
Eastern Michigan at Western Michigan
Miami at Akron
NIU at Ball State
Ohio at Kent State

Oct. 13 – Saturday
Akron at Buffalo
Ball State at Central Michigan
Kent State at Miami
Ohio at NIU
Toledo at Eastern Michigan
Western Michigan at Bowling Green

Oct. 20 – Saturday
Akron at Kent State
Bowling Green at Ohio
Buffalo at Toledo
Eastern Michigan at Ball State
Miami at Army
*Western Michigan at Central Michigan

Oct. 25 – Thursday
Ball State at Ohio, Time TBA (ESPN2/CBS Sports Network)
Toledo at Western Michigan, Time TBA (ESPN2/CBS Sports Network)

Oct. 27 – Saturday
Army at Eastern Michigan
*Central Michigan at Akron

Oct. 30 – Tuesday
Kent State at Bowling Green, Time TBA (ESPN2/ESPNU)
Miami at Buffalo, Time TBA (ESPN2/ESPNU)

Oct. 31 – Wednesday
*Ball State at Toledo, Time TBA (ESPN2)

Nov. 1 – Thursday
NIU at Akron, Time TBA (ESPNU/CBS Sports Network)
Ohio at Western Michigan, Time TBA (ESPNU/CBS Sports Network)

Nov. 3 – Saturday
*Central Michigan at Eastern Michigan

Nov. 6 – Tuesday
*Kent State at Buffalo, Time TBA (ESPNU)

Nov. 7 – Wednesday
Ohio at Miami, Time TBA (ESPN2/ESPNU)
Toledo at NIU, Time TBA (ESPN2/ESPNU)

Nov. 10 – Saturday
Akron at Eastern Michigan
Bowling Green at Central Michigan

Nov. 13 – Tuesday
*Western Michigan at Ball State, Time TBA (ESPN2)

Nov. 14 – Wednesday
Buffalo at Ohio, Time TBA (ESPN2/ESPNU)
Miami at NIU, Time TBA (ESPN2/ESPNU)

Nov. 15 – Thursday
*Toledo at Kent State, Time TBA (CBS Sports Network)

Nov. 17 – Saturday
*Bowling Green at Akron

Nov. 20 – Tuesday
Ball State at Miami, Time TBA (ESPN2 or ESPNU/ESPN3)
NIU at Western Michigan, Time TBA (ESPN2 or ESPNU/ESPN3)

Nov. 23 – Friday
Akron at Ohio, Time TBA (ESPNU/CBS Sports Network/ESPN3)
Buffalo at Bowling Green, Time TBA (ESPNU/CBS Sports Network/ESPN3)
Central Michigan at Toledo, Time TBA (ESPNU/CBS Sports Network/ESPN3)
Eastern Michigan at Kent State, Time TBA (ESPNU/CBS Sports Network/ESPN3)

2018 Marathon MAC Football Championship Game
East Division Champion vs. West Division Champion
Marathon MAC Championship Game, Date, Time and Television TBA
At Ford Field in Detroit, Mich.

2018 MAC Football Schedule (composite by school)
All times listed ET
*Conference Game

Wait is there more to this story


Welcome to GameDay.Blog. Powered by SportsBook-Live.com. We offer Tickets, fan Merchandise, News and RSS feeds for all your Favorite Professional sports leagues.