Big 12 Conference

List of Big 12 Conference Champions – Sports


See also:Big12 FootballChampionship Game

Number of football titles by school

Big 12 Championship Game

Season North Division
South Division
Big 12
1996 Nebraska Texas Texas
1997 Nebraska Texas A&M Nebraska
1998 Kansas State Texas A&M Texas A&M
1999 Nebraska Texas Nebraska
2000 Kansas State Oklahoma Oklahoma
2001 Colorado Texas Colorado
2002 Colorado Oklahoma Oklahoma
2003 Kansas State Oklahoma Kansas State
2004 Colorado Oklahoma Oklahoma
2005 Colorado Texas Texas
2006 Nebraska Oklahoma Oklahoma
2007 Missouri Oklahoma Oklahoma
2008 Missouri Oklahoma Oklahoma
2009 Nebraska Texas Texas
2010 Nebraska Oklahoma Oklahoma

Note: While the team playing in the championship game is popularly regarded as the divisional champion, the Big 12 does officially recognize co-champions in football, just like it does in other sports. As a result, the following teams are also recognized as champions by the Big 12:
North Co-Champions: Kansas State (1999), Nebraska (2000, 2001, 2008), Iowa State (2004), Kansas (2007), Missouri (2010)
South Co-Champions: Texas (2002, 2008), Texas Tech (2008), Oklahoma (2008), Oklahoma State (2010), Texas A&M (2010)

2011 – present

When Nebraska and Colorado left the conference after the 2010 season, it left the conference with only 10 members. The conference did not replace the two teams and therefore eliminated the Big 12 Championship game. Under the new format, every team plays each other and the team with the best conference record wins the Big 12 title. In the event of a tie between two teams or more teams for the best conference record, then they are determined co-champions. However, the team with the highest BCS ranking at the end of the season earns the BCS berth in the Fiesta Bowl.

Big 12 Champions

Season Big 12
2011 Oklahoma State†
2012 Kansas State†

Note: † Denotes team received BCS Bowl Berth.

Read more about this topic:  List Of Big 12 Conference Champions, Sports

Other articles related to “football”:

Drop Kick
… A drop kick is a type of kick in various codes of football … Association football goalkeepers also often return the ball to play with drop kicks … The kick was once in wide use in both Australian rules football and gridiron football, but is today rarely seen in either sport …

Gaelic Football – History
… Gaelic football was first codified in 1887, although it has links to older varieties of football played in Ireland and known collectively as caid … caid is used by some people to refer to present day Gaelic football … The first record of any form of football being played in Ireland comes from 1308, when John McCrocan, a spectator at a football game at Newcastle, County Dublin …

Arsenal F.C.
… Arsenal Football Club is an English Premier League football club based in Holloway, London … One of the most successful clubs in English football, it has won 13 First Division and Premier League titles and 10 FA Cups … from the south of England to join the Football League …

Arsenal F.C. – In Popular Culture
1937, an exhibition match between Arsenal’s first team and the reserves was the first football match in the world to be televised live … As one of the most successful teams in the country, Arsenal have often featured when football is depicted in the arts in Britain … They formed the backdrop to one of the earliest football-related films, The Arsenal Stadium Mystery (1939) …

Zlatan Ibrahimović – Early Life
… After receiving a pair of football boots, Ibrahimović began playing football at the age of six, alternating between local junior clubs Malmö BI and FBK Balkan … At the age of 15, Ibrahimović was close to quitting his football career, in favour of working at the docks in Malmö, but his manager convinced him to continue playing … dropped out of high school to focus on his football career …

Wait is there more to this story


Welcome to GameDay.Blog. Powered by We offer Tickets, fan Merchandise, News and RSS feeds for all your Favorite Professional sports leagues.